The Little Cylinder

by Angela Kempe

At once I was born out of the light. But in my brightness I could not see my own self. So, I wandered. When finally I came upon a beautiful river. And as it rushed and rolled through the green valley, a group of spheres were playing.

“What are you doing here?” I asked.

“We are digging a tunnel into the dirt to try and get passed this river.”

“May I help?”

The largest sphere pushed himself through the opening of the tunnel and then hollered back to me.

“Come join us. I believe we have already found the other side.”

So, I sank my feet into the deep hole, but my body would not fit.

Another sphere pulled my skinny limbs up and unstuck me.

“You might try playing with the pyramids then.”

So, I followed the river as it dipped and bent. And after many long hours, I came upon a group of pyramids fluttering near a tree.

“What are you doing here?” I asked.

“We are preparing to fly over this river. I see that you are all alone. Would you like to come with us?”

I smiled widely and my bright spirit glowed brightly. And soon the pyramids began to lift up into the sky and flutter high over the river. I reached out my arms, swinging them up and down as quickly as I could, but my feet did not lift off the ground. Not once. And soon, I ached from swinging so violently and the little pyramids were far, far away.

So, I sat by the tree and cried for a long time, when I saw in the great distance a group of cubes and shot up, running hard towards them.

“What are you doing here?” I asked.

“We’re building this bridge to cross the river. Would you like to cross with us?”

At that, I lit up again.

“That’s a wonderful idea!” I exclaimed.

We worked hard on the bridge together and when we were finished building, we all lined up to pass over the wooden bridge we had made.

But when I tried to walk across, I could not fit.

“What are you waiting for?” asked the cube from the other side.

“My body does not fit, and I am afraid I will tumble into the river if I go farther.”

“I’m sorry,” said the cube and they continued on.

Now, all alone I was sure that there were no other friends to play with. And since everyone was crossing the river, I was also positive that there was something quite wrong with me because I couldn’t.

As my tears flowed down my cheeks, I stared somberly into the river which bubbled  and shushed in front of me. Was there something there? I couldn’t make out the shape in the muddied water. I focused my eyes down into the murky muck with no luck. Then, suddenly my brightness shined my reflection back up at me. I was a cylinder and this I was sure: It was not my path to travel across the river. So, I dove in and in that moment, my arms became fins and my path became clear. And now when the sun shines down into the river, my scales shine and glisten so that you will always remember the true path is your own.

Author: angelakempe

A songwriter, musician, and writer

Leave a Reply

